National League

The ZSC Lions confirm that they have fired Hans Wallson. Hans Kossmann (photo) takes over until the end of the season. As of next season, however, Serge Aubin will join the Lions as their new coach on a two-year deal.

Photo: Monika Majer / RvS.Media

The overtime-win against Lausanne HC before Christmas was not enough for Hans Wallson to make it into the new year as ZSC's head coach. After one and a half seasons, the Swede has to pack his bags. What started with a lot of premature praise ends with bitter disappointment: the duo Wallson/Johansson, who arguably fell victim to their own success with Skellefteå in Sweden, was not able to meet the high expectations in Zurich.

For the remainder of the season, the ZSC Lions have signed Hans Kossmann as their new head coach. His assistant coach will be Leo Schumacher. Their mission: Make the Lions roar again. Maybe not a "Mission: Impossible", but certainly not an easy task. After a difficult first part of the season, the Lions find themselves sitting in seventh place, 23 points behind SC Bern and only seven points away from a playout spot.

The new coaching duo Kossmann/Schumacher, however, is only a temporary solution. The Lions already have a new head coach in place for the following years: The 42-year-old Canadian Serge Aubin. The former forward (Genève-Servette HC, EHC Biel, HC Fribourg-Gottéron) has signed a two-year contract including an option for another season. The current head coach of the EBEL's Vienna Capitals will bring his assistant coach Craig Streu to Zurich.

Last Update: 29 December 2017, 01:31 PM | tme

Have you spotted a mistake on this page? Then please let us know by E-Mail or Facebook Messenger. Thank you!

Now Online

Latest blogs & podcasts


Der „Exzentriker“ in der „Provinz“

05 July 2019

© 2013-2019

Privacy Notification
Welcome to!

We'd like to inform you that we use cookies and tracking pixels to show you advertising based on your interests and receive statistics from your visits. More infos: Privacy Policy.