National Hockey League

The forward and the defender have been chosen by their respective teams as candidates for the award.

Kevin Fiala
Icon Sportswire / Peter Joneleit

The King Clancy Memorial Trophy is presented “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.” Each team nominates one of their players: the Los Angeles Kings and the Nashville Predators have chosen Kevin Fiala and Roman Josi respectively.

The winner will be chosen by a selection committee consisting of NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman and former winners of the King Clancy Memorial Trophy and the NHL Foundation Player Award. Last season, it was won by the captain of the Calgary Flames, Mikael Backlund.

The winner of the award will receive a $25,000 donation to benefit a charity or charities of his choice. New this year, the winner will also be eligible to elect that his club receive a grant from the NHL, up to $20,000, to help organize a special activation related to his humanitarian cause.

The 2023-24 King Clancy Memorial Trophy nominees

Anaheim Ducks: Cam Fowler

Arizona Coyotes: Nick Bjugstad

Boston Bruins: Linus Ullmark

Buffalo Sabres: Alex Tuch

Calgary Flames: Andrew Mangiapane

Carolina Hurricanes: Jaccob Slavin

Chicago Blackhawks: Connor Murphy

Colorado Avalanche: Cale Makar

Columbus Blue Jackets: Zach Werenski

Dallas Stars: Jake Oettinger

Detroit Red Wings: Dylan Larkin

Edmonton Oilers: Darnell Nurse

Florida Panthers: Aleksander Barkov

Los Angeles Kings: Kevin Fiala

Minnesota Wild: Marc-Andre Fleury

Montreal Canadiens: Nick Suzuki

Nashville Predators: Roman Josi

New Jersey Devils: Jack Hughes

New York Islanders: Anders Lee

New York Rangers: Jacob Trouba

Ottawa Senators: Brady Tkachuk

Philadelphia Flyers: Scott Laughton

Pittsburgh Penguins: Bryan Rust

San Jose Sharks: Luke Kunin

Seattle Kraken: Jaden Schwartz

St. Louis Blues: Brayden Schenn

Tampa Bay Lightning: Nicholas Paul

Toronto Maple Leafs: Auston Matthews

Vancouver Canucks: Quinn Hughes

Vegas Golden Knights: Jack Eichel

Washington Capitals: Tom Wilson

Winnipeg Jets: Josh Morrissey

( 17 April 2024 | lle )