IIHF World Junior Championship

25 players will be part of the Swiss selection for the 2022 World Junior Ice Hockey Championship in Canada.


Three days later than originally scheduled, the Swiss U20 junior national team has announced their roster for the tournament. Head coach Marco Bayer has selected three goalies, eight defensemen and 14 forwards.

In net, Lucas Rötheli (concussion, did not participate in the preparation) and Noah Patenaude (slightly banged up) will not be part of the roster. On defense, Giancarlo Chanton tested positive for Covid while still in Switzerland and had to stay home. Vincent Despont suffered an injury.

On offense, Raymond Fust did not make the cut as he is slightly bruised. The one player having tested positive for Covid-19 while in Canada, Simon Knak, got a second positive result. He has to isolate and will thus not be part of the team for the tournament.

Two players were added to the roster, namely defenseman Damian Gehringer and netminder Andri Henauer.

Due to the circumstances with the pandemic, the IIHF has decided that, similar to last year, no team will be relegated.

Switzerland will play their first game today versus Russia. Puck-drop is at 10:30 pm (CET).

Switzerland's final roster for the World Juniors

Goaltenders (3): Loïc Galley (Fribourg-Gottéron HC), Kevin Pasche (Omaha Lancers/USHL), Andri Henauer (SC Bern)

Defensemen (8): Lian Bichsel (Leksands IF/SWE), Noah Delémont (EHC Biel-Bienne), Noah Meier (GCK/ZSC Lions), Damian Gehringer, Arno Nussbaumer, Dario Sidler (EV Zug), Maximilian Streule (Winnipeg Ice/WHL), Brian Zanetti (Peterborough Petes/OHL).

Forwards (14): Dario Allenspach (EV Zug), Nicolas Baechler (GCK/ZSC Lions), Attilio Biasca (Halifax Mooseheads/QMJHL), Jérémie Bärtschi (EHC Biel-Bienne), Lorenzo Canonica (Shawinigan Cataractes/QMJHL), Christophe Cavalleri (Genève-Servette HC), Keanu Derungs (Victoria Royals/WHL), Joshua Fahrni (SC Bern), Lilian Garessus (EHC Biel-Bienne), Marlon Graf (GCK/ZSC Lions), Joel Henry (GCK/ZSC Lions), Valentin Hofer (EV Zug), Fabian Ritzmann (HC Davos), Louis Robin (Rimouski Océanic/QMJHL).

( 27 December 2021 | esi )