IIHF World Championship

Among the 24 players chosen by the head coach, HC Ambrì-Piotta's Johnny Kneubuehler will debut with the national team.

Johnny Kneubuehler has received his first call from Patrick Fischer.

Starting Tuesday next week, the Swiss national team will prepare for the World Championship, which will take place in Riga (Latvia) and Tampere (Finnland) from May 12 to 28. The selection sees the debut of Johnny Kneubuehler but also the renunciation of HC Lugano's Mirco Müller and SC Bern's Tristan Scherwey for familiar reasons and that of HC Fribourg-Gottéron's Reto Berra, who is not feeling fit enough after the surgery to his back.

Moreover, definitely giving up the national team is SC Bern's Ramon Untersander. After dealing with health problems in the past, the defender has decided to prioritize his body: "Health reasons have led me to resign. I have to and want to take care of my body and can no longer handle the extra load".

On a side note, HC Ambrì-Piotta's head coach Luca Cereda will cover the role of the assistant coach until when Marcel Jenni, the designated U20 coach, is done with the U18 World Championship. "We are delighted that Luca Cereda is joining the national team for the first time as an assistant coach," says Lars Weibel, director of the national teams, "the cooperation with the club coaches is very valuable for us. Both sides can benefit from this exchange."

Switzerland's preliminary roster

Goaltenders (2): Connor Hughes (HC Fribourg-Gottéron), Gilles Senn (HC Davos).

Defenders (8): David Aebischer (SC Rapperswil-Jona Lakers), Lian Bichsel (Leksands IF / SWE), Dominik Egli (HC Davos), Michael Fora (HC Davos), Lukas Frick (Lausanne HC), Andrea Glauser (Lausanne HC), Romain Loeffel (SC Bern), Nathan Vouardoux (SC Rapperswil-Jona Lakers).

Forwards (14): Andres Ambühl (HC Davos), Thierry Bader (SC Bern), Christoph Bertschy (HC Fribourg-Gottéron), Enzo Corvi (HC Davos), Joshua Fahrni (SC Bern), André Heim (HC Ambri-Piotta), Ken Jäger (Lausanne HC), Johnny Kneubühler (HC Ambri-Piotta), Dario Meyer (EHC Kloten), Tyler Moy (SC Rapperswil-Jona Lakers), Marco Müller (HC Lugano), Damien Riat (Lausanne HC), Sandro Schmid (HC Fribourg-Gottéron), Calvin Thürkauf (HC Lugano).

( 05 April 2023 | lle )