Spengler Cup

The squad is formed by eight players of the three teams from the Canton of Bern, with the additions of Bobby Ryan and HCAP's Juuso Hietanen.


Head of the delegation Raeto Raffainer (the driving force behind this idea, according to the Berner Zeitung), and the team managers of the three teams have selected the 26 players that will play in Davos during Christmas break. Additionally, the three head coaches will form the coaching staff: EHC Biel's Antti Törmänen will take the role of head coach of the "Bern Selection", while SCL Tigers' Jason O'Leary and SC Bern's Johan Lundskog will be his assistants.

In the roster, captained by EHC Biel defenseman Beat Forster, there are ten import players from the National League and Bobby Ryan, a 34-year-old free agent forward who last played for the Detroit Red Wings. Moreover, one spot in the defense is still open.

Finally, the schedule of the tournament has been updated: Slovan Bratislava takes the position of HC Ambrì-Piotta in the group Torriani with KalPa Kuopio and Frölunda HC, while the "Bern Selection" takes that of Team Canada in group Cattini with HC Davos and Sparta Prague.

Roster of the "Bern Selection" for the 2021 Spengler Cup

Goaltenders (2): Joren van Pottelberghe (EHC Biel), Daniel Manzato (SC Bern).

Defensemen (9): Juuso Hietanen (HC Ambrì-Piotta), Colin Gerber (SC Bern), Anthony Huguenin (SCL Tigers), Beat Forster (EHC Biel), Noah Schneeberger (EHC Biel), Miro Zryd (SCL Tigers), Alexander Yakovenko (EHC Biel), Mika Henauer (SC Bern), still open.

Forwards (16): Phil Varone (SC Bern), Vincent Praplan (SC Bern), Bobby Ryan (Free agent), Christian Thomas (SC Bern), Lauri Korpikoski (EHC Biel), Alexandre Grenier (SCL Tigers), Keijo Weibel (SCL Tigers), Flavio Schmutz (SCL Tigers), Elvis Schläpfer (EHC Biel), Jere Sallinen (EHC Biel), Tino Kessler (EHC Biel), Thierry Bader (SC Bern), Harri Pesonen (SCL Tigers), Cory Conacher (SC Bern), Jesper Olofsson (SCL Tigers), Nolan Diem (SCL Tigers).

( 21 December 2021 | lle )